Older than the average caveman

Standard

That’s what I am  – according to my nearly nine-year old son.  Apparently the average lifespan was 30 years.  So I’ve done well. That is something to be truly thankful for.   But it doesn’t sound so great, does it?

Older is rarely a compliment (unless you’re 13 and desperate to look 18) and comparison with cavemen is also a bit iffy.  What other things might be compared with a caveman?  Hairier than the average caveman?  More romantic than the average.. How about tougher than.. Now that would be a good one for a bloke.  How about more macho than … or rougher.  If you notice, I haven’t managed a feminine one yet. I suppose the bottom line is we don’t have a very positive image of cavemen.  So they are the problem, not me.

The truth is, I don’t want to be compared to anyone or anything, Older than I was this time last year will suit me fine.

Leave a Reply

