Still excited about Christmas!

Standard

What a busy time November has been!  It took me by surprise, but it has been good. We’ve had a 60th birthday party in Bath, a 50th birthday party in London.  Him indoors had a weekend away with the boys and I’ve even had a couple of days work! Oh, and we decorated the living room and had the parish here for lunch.

Today I’ve got the children at home because of the strike and then tomorrow it is December 1, the first day of western Advent. (For us Orthodox the run up to Christmas starts on 15 November… we never do anything at less than full tilt!)

The first of December was the day the Christmas tree went up when I was a child.  It was the beginning of the wild excitement that accompanied Christmas.  I manage to wait a lot longer with my children (when they were very small the tree went up on Christmas Eve) but I do this by making a fuss of Advent.

So, today we are going off to buy an Advent calendar.  And I’ve got a couple of surprises for them.  I will say more about these later when I have some photos to add.

If I am being honest, I am starting to get a bit excited.  I am  looking forward to seeing the children have a good time.  The nice thing is that they are still at the stage where what they want is lots of things and lots of chocolate.  No expensive presents are needed – just quantity. I’m setting myself a limit for presents for them and want to do a good job for them.  Ebay here I come! Let’s see what I can do.

I may in some ways be getting older, but the children are keeping me young.

As for the rest… well, I got myself a new swimming costume and went swimming yesterday.  We may well go swimming today, too. So exercise is starting to happen.  And about time too!

 

Leave a Reply

